26th August 2006. The date that will always remain in my mind as the date that changed my life. This day the stork came to visit with news. Yes, I am PREGNANT, and it still feels weird to say it.
How did it happen? Was it Bali? Was it the treatment? What did we do? I have no idea. The one time I said I didn’t want to think about it, it happened. Maybe it was the change of air. Maybe it was the stress-free holiday. Maybe it was the holy snake hehehe. Maybe it was just our time. Whatever it is, of course I accept it with open arms. We both do.
The weeks leading to the news, I did feel some changes. I did feel weird. I pee a whole load more, I had to wake up in the middle of the night to pee. I got reaaallllyy bloated, there are some body changes, mood changes, hormone changes, overall, I just felt WEIRD. But of course I didn’t think much of it, till the day IT was supposed to come, and it didn’t. The first few days, I just brushed it off, thinking perhaps the holiday changed the timing, I was under stress, I’m just tired, something else could have caused the delay. But after a week, I started thinking “could this be it?” But still I was too scared to hope, too tired to get disappointed, so again I brushed it off. Even when I started to get overwhelmed with fatigue all the time, I thought it was because IT was late.
After almost 2 weeks delay, after I started getting nauseous and ill and all, I finally summed up the courage to test. That is, I suddenly woke up on the Saturday morning of 26th August, woke hubster up, asked him if we should go to clinic to test straight or should we get a home test? He opted for home test and of course he was the one who had to go and buy it la while I hold my bladder. I peed on the stick, left it in the toilet and asked hubster to go take a look at it. He came out smiling excitedly, showing me the plus sign on the stick. “Positive!!!”
Now that I was *almost* sure I wouldn’t be disappointed, we went to a clinic to double confirm it. And sure enough, it was another positive sign… Next stop, to a gynae, which I shall be going to, soon. Soon.
What have I been feeling so far? Nauseous, vomitting, headaches, dizziness, extreme fatigue and sleepiness, with the bathroom becoming my second bedroom. Emotionally? I am ecstatic, there is this tiny being growing in my tummy…. and I am also bloody paranoid…. Me?? As a mother??? I feel I haven’t even grown up enough myself.. and now, I’m gonna have to grow a baby…..
But no doubt about it, I am excited beyond words… and I can’t wait to see what our baby will look like…..
No comments:
Post a Comment