Wednesday, March 21, 2007

35 weeks

Last checkup: 20/3/2007

Weight: 54.5kg (and it goes back and front again). Waistline: 36.5 inches (I think, last checked last week)

Baby’s weight: Undetermined. She was in a curved position yesterday, making it hard to get proper measurement of her torso. But gross estimation makes her about 2.5-2.8 kg.

Your baby’s getting big. He weighs a tad over 5 pounds (think bag of sugar) and is just over 18 inches long from head to heel. Of course, he’s still curled up inside you: It’s getting so snug in your womb that your baby isn’t really floating anymore and he isn’t likely to be doing somersaults. But tighter quarters don’t mean less frequent movement; your baby should still be kicking at the same rate he always has. If you notice a decrease, call your healthcare provider. Your baby’s kidneys are fully developed now, and his liver can process some waste products. Most of his basic physical development is now complete — the next few weeks are all about putting on weight.

But I don’t want her to put on more weight. Well I do want her chubby lah, but not that much weight!! I would prefer her to come out at 3kgs or a bit less than that. But looks like even if I don’t gain weight, she will. Hehehehe. I am of course still getting freaked at the whole labor and delivery process, and the prospect of having a large baby who might or might not fit through my kinda-small pelvic bone is quite scary ok. According to the doc, she is already head-down and is making her way into the birth canal. Uhuh. Scary again hehehe. I can start feeling her pushing down, making her descent. Somehow the doc said it is great if she can come out at 38 weeks as she will be the right size then, not too chubby and making the delivery process much easier. But that would also mean she will be 2 weeks early from the EDD (expected due date) and I don’t know WHEN I want her to come out hahahaha. One part of me wants her to come out whenever she’s ready, another part wants her to come out when I’m ready. But then again, I don’t think I can ever prepare myself mentally for what is to come during delivery huh.

I started packing the hospital bag last night, kinda got some motivation from the visit to the doc. And then thinking that being prepared early won’t hurt. There are still some last minute stuff I need to get which had to wait for the next pay since I am almost broke. Nothing too important really, just wanna get some new pair of socks for myself and lil kiddo and also another pair of nursing bra hehehehe. The rest, I just brought some old shirts of hubby’s, some track pants and kain batik. I think they would be sufficient. The most fun was of course choosing which cute outfit to take kiddo home in hehe which outfit, which hat, which socks and mittens etc; and preparing the carry cot, with the padding, pillows, blankets and all.

Got all the cot sheets and pillowcases washed, all the clothes done, the only thing left is to get the cot bumpers washed and since I can’t bend down and do hand wash anymore, we plan to send them to laundromat. Hopefully, by this week. Hehehe.

Now all we have to do, is wait. And I really hate waiting hehehehe. I know she’s coming, pretty soon, 5 weeks the most (or maybe 6 or 7 right we never know) but it’s sooo real, I’m getting tonnes of those Braxton-Hicks per day. And they’re starting to hurt and make me uncomfy!!! Other than that, it’s getting harder and harder to sleep, bend down, pray (the tummy’s touching my lap!!), hard to be in one position for more than an hour etc etc. I bet in a couple of week’s time I shall be wishing for kiddo to be out soon hehehehe.

Now I’m at a loss for words. This post took the whole day to type out hahaha there are so many distractions. Next week perhaps k kiddo? ;)

No comments: