
I suck at this don’t I tsk tsk tsk. Sooo much has happened since the last post and I’ve been sooo meaning to update!! Ayra will be 11 weeks old tomorrow, that means 2 months and 3 weeks. She’ll be 3 months old next week! A quarter of a year!!
I came to the realization as I typed out the title. 11 weeks of pregnancy is so nothing, but 11 weeks of ur baby’s life… well… it’s a really big deal. A part of me feels like it was only yesterday that I gave birth to her but the bigger part of me felt like she had been with us all along.
Ok let’s start from the beginning. Ayra had her first 5-in-1 (my mistake earlier for mentioning 6-in-1) jab on 29th June. As of now I can’t remember what the 5 immunization is, but I will surely check her health book and update here for my own future reference too. The polio meds was given orally. My heart sank low as she was poked in the left chubby thigh of hers deep and good. She immediately turned purple-red and screamed reallll loud and wailed for a good 5 minutes. I stuffed her mouth with them *’nummies’ to pacify her and she went to sleep after. Smashed up half a panadol and fed her with the medicine dropper as soon as we got home and I took half day off work to be with her and cuddled her for 2 hours in bed. She seemed fine when I left in the afternoon and didn’t have a temperature so I managed to actually go to work. Checked in on her every 2 hours, and my mom said she is extra cranky that day and would wail whenever anyone just so much as touch her left leg. Rushed home early that day and found her with a slight temperature, my poor baby and her thigh was swollen and red and felt very warm. That night was fully devoted to her as I gave her cold compress on her leg and wiped down her whole body and head with a cold cloth every now and then. She still fed fine so that got me less worried. She took her meds well, and by night time, she was smiling!! Thank GOD!!! I was prepared for a sleepless night but she slept fine through the night and woke up the next day completely healthy!! That’s my strong girl right there! The swelling went down and she didn’t flinch when we touched her leg.. I was one happy momma that day hahaha. Drama queen huh?
Last week I was away for a whole week. I missed the lil girl like mad!!!!! But I kept busy with thoughts of her (of course, a set of her ‘masam’ worn sleepsuit and mittens too) and also by pumping milk every 4-5 hours to bring back for her. I managed to bring back 16 bags in total, each bag containing about 6oz. Bringing the milk back is another story altogether hahaha. Had problems initially as no liquid is allowed on board but after some haggling and such and to cut the story short, I managed to let them allow me to take them frozen liquid gold on board and keep them in the plane’s freezer during the journey. And so the milk managed to stay frozen and reached Ayra safe n fresh But alas, since I got home the milk production has dwindled dramatically and I am having a hard time keeping up with her demand
Thank God for the supply I brought back. Ayra had formula supplemented while I was away since the stock I kept for her is only enough for daytime and I seriously don’t like it at all! Her poo looks and smells different, her mouth smells different poor baby. I am now ever the more determined to do everything in my power to bring my milk production back up to her demand, which is, not surprisingly, increasing!!! Before this I can leave 12 oz for her when I go to work, now I have to leave about 16-18oz!!!
She can now be awake and fully contented. She will just look around, drool, move her hands and legs excitedly and it will be a long long time before she finally gets bored and cry ahahaha. Provided she’s not wet or hungry la. She plays with her hands a lot more now, whenever we take her mittens off. She opens n closes her fists, stuffs the fingers and the whole hand at times into her mouth, and the cutest is when she held her hands together, grasping them and studied her hands clasped together hehehe. She makes more sounds now, and her voice is just so adorable I could melt! She coos and whimpers, high pitch, low pitch, she has mastered them all. We can have a conversation with her when she’s on her back or side for up to 20 minutes before she gets bored so yeah she’s making us go to work later and later each day hehehe. She will also kick and move her hands very very excitedly whenever she’s happy. She still smiles a lot, with sound now, and it gets easier and easier with each passing day! Oh, and she has now discovered her tongue. She knows it can be poked out, moved from side to side and up and down and she will move them WHILE making them cute sounds and I soooo can’t be moved from my current position when she does that. Another skill mastered, making “pppffffhhhttttt” sounds while making bubbles with her saliva. She is also (finally!) now able to lift her head up high when put on her tummy. That one took quite a while as she was lazy to do it before haha. Her head won’t flop down when we carry her in ’superman’ position. Soon she will be able to support her head fully!!! She drools, A LOT hahaha even if we put the bib on her, it will be soaked in a matter of minutes! She has chocked on her saliva a number of times and it is just so adorable when she pouts her mouth with tip of tongue out to cough hehehe.
The lil girl is becoming more and more chubbier!! I looked at her bare thighs this morning and they looked more enticing than a whole bucket of KFC!! I really felt like digging my teeth into them hahahaha. Yummy!! She’s also a lot fairer now, I guess that finally the jaundice is fully gone. I wonder if she has reached 6kg yet, my arms are getting sore sooner now when she sleeps while I held her. And she has definitely graduated into 3-6 months clothes and more and more of the old 0-3 month ones had to be put away… soo fast!!
Oh, she now rarely cries while bathed. Hahahaha. We did some experimenting and realized that it’s the washing the face and hair part that she hates, she’s fine when we put her in the tub. She even kicks the water excitedly. So we changed the bathing routine. Instead of wash face-wash hair-wash body sequence, we did wash body-wash face-wash hair ritual. And she’s ok with it!! As long as we do the job fast and talks with her while at it, she can even smile hehehe.
Lastly I would like to announce that we are one of the few very very fortunate people whose babies sleep through the night early!!! Since that fateful night of her 2nd month birthday (?), she has slowly stretched her sleeping hours. From 5 to 6 to 7 and for the past few days, 8 hours!! She can sleep from 10 to 6! Alhamdulillah sangat2. She must have been able to notice that her parents had to work and took pity on us hehehe. Putting her to sleep is a whole lot easier now too, since we don’t encourage her to sleep from 7-10. That is when we get back from work and devote our time playing with her. I feed her often, play with her, and at 930 will start changing her clothes and diaper and then feed her till she sleeps, or till half-asleep and then put her down in her cot and pat her to sleep. Without fussing! Alhamdulillah… it gets easier…
*nummies: My substitute word for ‘nenen’ since I soo hate that word hehehe.
No comments:
Post a Comment